Yoga and Flexibility

Since December started, I’ve been working full time as a waitress, and that means all I have been doing is running around and walking and such. I’ve been bad and haven’t gone off to the gymn lately, and I’ve been noticing a large change in my flexibility – more so than in my muscle toning or size or anything like that, which is where I was expecting to see a difference. But thinking back, it obviously makes sense; my muscles have had a limited range of movement and I also don’t stretch like I do after a workout.

So, I’m adding to my (admittedly already doomed) ambitious list of New Year’s Resolutions This 21-Day Yoga Challenge. I’ve been looking for one like this for a while, and it’s perfect! Day-by-day videos, a progressively more challenging sequence of routines, clear instructions, and and mediation tracks! Oh, yeah, and it’s free!

Aaaaaand, I have to get back to the gymn. Currently, I’m in a tough position. I have been wanting to sign up for a class at my YMCA (or multiples) but between working and school, both full time, I haven’t thought to remove another couple hours from my availability to sign up for a class. So honestly, the thing that will be most easily stuck into my schedule is working out on my own.

So, now not only do I have to commit to a yoga routine, but also get serious about working out again andΒ getting my motivation in check to do so.

Oh. And work. And schoool.

But hey, at least I will be on my way to a tranquil and, frankly, freaking awesome morning work out routine like this:

 

3 thoughts on “Yoga and Flexibility

  1. I’ve been meaning to ask you if you know of any beginning yoga programs. That’s one of my resolutions too. I’m not sure if I’m up for the 21-day thing, but I’ll sure try. Good for you!

  2. So what do we learn here? We need nothing but underwear to practise yoga, oh, and the mat isn’t crucial either. πŸ™‚ No, honestly – amazing videos, thanks for posting, really love the second one, and she has an interesting website too!

  3. Cool! I really should try that too. I’ve been meaning to get into a habit of a regular yoga class, so I think I’m going to try one. I’m not sure if I’ll do a once weekly at hot yoga or do a yoga class through a Parks and Rec center locally… We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

