5 Things I Am Notorious For

We all have something that has been defined as our typical behavior. “Classic you.” For some, it might be struggling with using the term “like” or “whatever” more than the average person actually does anymore. Maybe it’s that you always totally rock big, baggy sweaters and the messy bun. Maybe it’s that you love a movie so much you talk about it on the daily (I knew someone like this with the Titanic.) It could be anything. Here’s 5 things I’m known for.

  1. My coffee addiction
    I knew I was officially addicted when “I can quit anytime I want to” turned into “I’ve tried to quit caffeine three times and I promise I will never leave you again, my precious, lovely, caffeinated, liquid form of life force.”

  2. Not necessarily being fully aware of my surroundings
    I’m not really used to thinking before I say things. I talk too loud when out with my family at a restaurant. When I was little, I would walk through the grocery store with my mom in a bizarre way to walk (arms swinging, leapfrogging, you name it). One memory I distinctly still remember was one time when I was in first grade: two first grade classrooms were conjoined with a shared bathroom. Well, I was the only one in there, and so I just went and sang my little heart out. When I got out of the bathroom, my teacher commented on how much I love to sing. I knew in that moment that, not only had my teacher and class all heard me sing in the bathroom, but the other class must have as well. Oops.And really, this list goes on. In fact, one more example of this is something that happened at work… We servers were talking about what holidays we were working (between Thanksgiving, Christmas Day, and Christmas, we all had to work 2). One of my coworkers was working all three. I felt really sad because he must have wished she could be with her family. My stupid brain’s way of expressing this daftly came out as “What? Don’t you have any family??”   She didn’t. Her mom had also passed away within a year ago. When I talked to her about it, she said she was totally fine (and we’re still on great terms today) but the mortification still hants me (especially because I know, no matter how “fine” she was, I’m sure it still bothered her). It’s these kinds of things that creep into my brain when I’m lying awake at night.
  3. Over-thinking things
    I wish I could somehow make some money off of every time some one told me I think too hard about everything. Inner conflict, perfectionism, and self-doubt often draw me into a pensive quietness and I just get really conflicted, guilty, and grumpy. And, frankly, this is whatever. I know this is just how I am, and I’m going to over-analyze everything. Over the years, and as I learn more about life, people, and myself, this habit has become less of an issue, but it’s definitely still something I get  told.
  4. Laughing at my own jokes
    Hey. I think everyone should laugh at their own jokes. You laugh when something’s funny, and you know you just totally nailed that timing and phrasing for the perfect humorous comment. Enjoy it. There was a time when I said something, giggled at myself, and then a coworker said “I bet you’re also one of those girls who starts telling a joke, and then starts laughing in the middle of it because she knows how funny the punchline is.”  Welp, that was curiously perceptive.And true. I do that. And I love it.  Why is it so cool to say something funny and not laugh at yourself? Are we supposed to be too cool for our own jokes? It kind of makes me think about those guys in movies who slowly and calmly walk away from a giant, firey explosion. If I were in the viscinity of a fire, I would totally freak out and run away from it and/or hide! And in this metaphor, my jokes are the giant, firey explosions. And I laugh at them. (This is also important for those situations where no one else gets your funny comment. In these times, you just can’t let such hilarity gold go to waste).

    I dunno. Maybe I just didn’t get the memo that we shouldn’t do this. I don’t care, and I proudly own up to it.

  5. Being good at being bad at telling stories
    When I asked some people I know for ideas for this list, my sister, parents, and best friend all said I should include “telling great stories.” Well. This isn’t really true. I may have good stories in my head that I want to share, but my actual story-telling abilities have received criticism including: a) I laugh at my own hilarity (as we’ve discussed), b) I usually fail to follow the whole build-up, climax, conclusion progression and my stories often end without  big, satisfying payoff. This sometimes makes people feel like they’re hanging, and some people (like my sister) find this awkward story-telling style all the more funny. Others (like my boyfriend) respond with ” ‘kay, cool” and laugh because of how badly I told it. But I am really good at being bad at telling stories. People laugh, people cry, people love my stories! At least up until they find out there’s no good, satisfying ensing or punchline or find themselves sitting and listening to me for longer than they gambled they would.

    I am also never concise when I’m talking. I regularly get looks or comments regarding how much shorter I could have made a story or a response. I’ll use too many details, repeat myself, or just keep talking once I’ve sufficiently responded to some one. My parents always tried to make me aware of this when I was little. I have no idea if I was even worse back then and I’ve gotten better, or if I just never tried to get better.

    Either way, this is something else I know is just a part of who I am and how I communicate. Some people think it’s dumb and some get a kick out of it. I’ve come to the point where I’m just going to say what I want to say how I want to say it. It’s harmless, and I don’t know any other way to share my stories.

What about you? What are some things you know you are known for? Any “classic you” habits and moments? Do tell!

Image

Leave a Reply

