Enough

January is a month where we hear just SO MUCH about what people feel they need to fix, what changes they want to make, what they need to do more of, what they need to do less of, how much weight they want to lose, and the list goes on forever.

Recently, I’ve stumbled across the Unlost. It’s a site that has many articles, seminars, podcasts, etc, about being happy and loving the person you already are and the life you already have. The concept that we are already enough is a radical one in this day and age. After all, if we are already enough, then how would people sell things?

How would marketers sell things to women without telling them they’re broken and need something to fix them?

Men and women according to advertisers

But I’m trying to see this concept in my life. When I feel like a mess, I just remember that this is normal and there’s no one that can be happily and robotically successful.

Image

This is my last semester of college. I’m writing and updating To-Do lists like it’s my job. I’m tempted every moment to look around and think of all the things I should be doing, even if it’s not homework, and every morning criticizing how many things I didn’t complete on yesterday’s to-do list.

But I am so tired of this. This is no way to foster a happy brain or mental and emotional wellbeing. In six months or a year, what am I going to remember – the items on my to-do list that I didn’t check off, or feeling so guilty and insufficient my senior year of college?

Time for a happy change. =]

Leave a Reply

