Wife2Wife Linkup: Marriage Goals for 2014

 

 

Photobucket

 

I’m proud to say that this is my first link-up that I’ve participated in! Hurray!

So, this month, the linkup is about our marriage goals for 2014. I have to say that my list is probably quite different from a lot of the other ladies participating because I’m not even going to be married until May. However, I don’t believe that this means I’m not able to have goals for my marriage in 2014. Here’s a short list of some of the things I have in mind.

1. Actually GET married

I don’t think I really need to elaborate too much on this goal! I’m looking forward to being able to participate more in these linkups. =]

2. Obtain an actual table, at which to eat.

Hopefully, Luke and I can get a table into his apartment before we’re married, but I’m still making this a goal. Seriously – it sucks not having a table at all. (If you’re wondering why we don’t have one, it’s simply because he/we do not own one yet.) It’s so hard to feel productive and get papers and work done on the couch all the time! It also means we don’t get to sit and eat dinner together, really.

3. Start off being really, really organized.

I really want to start things off right by being one of those wives that has a home organizer binder and a bill schedule and maybe even meal planning (*gasp*). I don’t really know where to begin, but I feel like at that point, I won’t really have anything else on my plate to worry about, having graduated from college by then. Hopefully, I’ll have plenty of time to organize and label our cupboards and things.

4. Spend time with family regularly

Because Luke, his parents, and I all live pretty far away from each other, it never seems to quite work out to see our families as much as we’d like. Once we’re married and on the same schedule with school out of the way for both of us, I think it’d really make our lives that much happier to see our parents and siblings more often.

5. Be on the ball with post-wedding checklists

Thank you notes, gift returns, organization/putting things away, decorating a bit, legally changing my name, making a combined budget, etc. All things I really want to make sure I actually get around to getting done after the wedding!

6. Find a new place to live

After the wedding, I’ll just be making due with Luke’s bachelor pad for a couple months until his lease ends in August/September. I really hope to find a nice 2-bedroom apartment nearby that is a good price, andΒ actually has counter space in the bathroom. Seriously. I’ll be living out of a suitcase at first and there’s absolutely no counter top in the bathroom. This may be the hardest thing about our first few months of marriage. Oy vey.

7. Pare down my own belongings

Speaking of moving in with Luke, I have wayyy too much stuff. On top of everything I’m hoping to get done before the wedding (uh, like,Β planning the wedding), I really need to set aside regular time to sort through all my junk.

Join the link-up here!

4 thoughts on “Wife2Wife Linkup: Marriage Goals for 2014

  1. Great goals!

    I’m so bummed…I didn’t realize Luke still needed a table and we just got rid of our old one a couple months ago, otherwise you could have totally taken it!

    I am not the most organized person ever, but meal planning is definitely a must. I usually come up with 7 dinner ideas and shop for those specific meals, plus sandwich fixings for lunch (although we eat dinner leftovers a lot) and a couple breakfast options.

    Then I just keep the list on my fridge and make whatever meal seems best according to our day’s activities/what needs to be used up in the fridge. I used to try to plan specific meals for specific days but it just kept changing with things that would come up, and I was just getting frustrated. This way as worked the best to have a plan but still be flexible.

    Also, best tip ever–make double what you need! With two people it’s not very hard. Freeze the extra portions and it makes meals when you don’t have the energy and time to cook so easy. I do this all the time with soups, sloppy joes, homemade spaghetti sauce, enchiladas etc. You can even freeze pizza dough!

    • Thanks for the advice, Erin! That definitely makes it sound more doable.

      And I’m totally bummed about the table, too! I’m sure there’s one at a salvation army or craigslist we can find. We need a set of chairs for it too. =/ we’ve been hoping to use the one from my parents’ basement but I think it’d be really big for the apartment and also we don’t have a car big enough to try and transport it.

  2. Pingback: Wednesday Things |

Leave a Reply

