Love Story

In lieu of my usual Wednesday Things post today, I’m debuting my beautiful new look and name for my blog! I’ve created lots of new pages (check out the links and menu on the top!) and created a new name that allows my blog to be more of a self-brand. I’m also creating a fabulous banner/logo, Facebook page, and buttons for sponsoring! Keep an eye out for the finished product.

Today, enjoy one of my new pages, dedicated to My Love Story! (Cue the mush)

IMG_5068

This man is the love of my life.

His name is Luke (also sometimes known on here as L) and, yes, he is genuinely named after Luke Skywalker.

And this is how we met.

Long ago, in a galaxy far, far away…

Wait, no, that’s not it.

Our first interaction is one I definitely remember every moment of, but L doesn’t even remember me from.  It was a party that one of our mutual friends was hosting. After some time with the usual fun of Apples to Apples and other games, some one had the idea to go outside. Somehow, we ended up playing this dumb camp game where everyone gets in a circle and puts their hands in the middle in a jumble. The goal is to grab a random hand, and then everyone has to work together to get untangled and ultimately end up in a circle with everyone holding hands. I hate this game. But L was playing. Therefore, I jumped right in for the chance to hold his hand. Despite my efforts to deliberately grab his hand in the beginning instead of a random one, I was not successful.

143137

The next time we ran into each other, it was at yet another friend’s open house. All of us teenage kids hung out for a bit and then everyone decided to get up and go to Steak N Shake for dinner. When I stood up, I realized I was now taller than one of my good guy friends.

“Is there no one left that’s taller than me?”  I exclaimed. And, to my utmost joy, a handsome voice responded behind me.

“Helllllooo.”

I whipped around and L was standing right there, a good 4 or 5 inches taller than I am – which is an amazing thing because I’m very tall myself “Hi! Wanna be my friend?” (Wow, I’m such a nerd).

“Of course!” he said.

We sat at the same table at dinner and got along famously.

9787_10201164174923515_535705197_n2

Our third meeting was yet another get together at a restaurant that’s always open late. At this point, I totally knew I wanted this boy and I flirted shamelessly. We talked about science fiction shows and  I found an excuse to write a list of my favorites for him to watch, and I ended the list with my phone number.

Because L is just soooooo smooth, he read over the list, and asked out loud in front of everyone, “Is this your phone number??”

That was definitely a moment. After we all left the restaurant, Luke had texted me before we even left the parking lot and we texted up a storm for the next couple months. However, the texting did slow and we hadn’t talked much lately when we met for the fourth time.

IMG_3373IMG_3375

Our fourth meeting (the third one he remembers) is the instance that, if you asked either of us, was the moment we both new we really liked each other. We were inseparable, I tried that lame put-my-hand-weirdly-next-to-him-doing-nothing thing hoping he’d make the move and hold it (spoiler: he didn’t).

After this, we knew we had to spend more time together. We started going on dates, and five years later, we’re getting married on May 4th, 2014. (National Star Wars Day… What else?)

IMG_5098

You can read about how he proposed here.

4 thoughts on “Love Story

  1. I loved reading this! Oddly enough, I never knew the exact details of how you met, except that it was through a mutual friend. I remember meeting you for the first time–minutes before I walked down the aisle! So excited that now you get to walk down the aisle to marry your own Ervin boy! 😉

  2. Omg I love that you’re getting married on National Star Wars Day! So awesome, and that’s too perfect considering his namesake. Adorable story, and I love the new look of your blog.

  3. I love that you’re getting married on National Star Wars Day! So awesome, especially considering his namesake. This story is adorable. And I love the new look of your blog and the changes you’re making. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

